« Two Fs | Main | A Lunch Ruined »

04/16/2008

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Either way I don't think I'd keep going as is. I can't say for sure, but if I had been knitting that, I would guess that my looseness/holeyness was caused by starting the pattern on the tips of the DPNs. When I used DPNs I got terrible ladders/loose stitches on those first few stitches of the needles. Have you ever tried magic loop or knitting in the round with 2 circulars? That's how I do all my circular knitting now, I haven't picked up a DPN for anything other than i-cord in 3 years. I never have ladders or the loose stitching now. But I can understand not wanting to jump into a new technique right now...

I looked at some other finished versions of these on Ravelry, and honestly, I like the "non-man" version better...If you look at these: http://www.ravelry.com/projects/betharoopie/oktoberfest

this woman made them for her husband and though she doesn't specify which pattern she used, I don't see any knots so I think she used the regular one, and I don't think they look too feminine at all. If the lace was carried all the way down the foot it might, but not if just used on the cuff. I think if it were me, I'd rip back and start over with the alternate one, and maybe try to balance the needles so that you're not working it on the edges, if you can.

As much as starting over might hurt, you'll probably never be satisfied with the sock if you're this freaked out already.

Sorry.

You aren't going to be happy with them as they are. Give the yo a try.

Good luck!

yup, i would give the yo a try

Start over and try a different pattern. Also do such pattern in the middle of dpns, not stretched out between them or anything like that.

The comments to this entry are closed.